Congratulations! Northeast Iowa Food & Fitness Early Childhood is pleased to announce we awarded 23 Early Childhood Mini-Grant Awards to local Preschools and Daycare Centers in NE Iowa. The funds come from the NE Iowa WK Kellogg Foundation Early Childhood Grant.


These $200 mini grant awards will be used in a variety of ways to connect preschool age children and their families to where their food comes from and introduce healthy eating habits. They will support Farm to Early Education in the classroom with priority to gardens, local foods and classroom resources.

Award recipients are:

  1. Theresa Knutson, TLC New Hampton CSD
  2. Amanda Madery, TLC New Hampton CSD
  3. Tiffany Bredman, TLC New Hampton CSD
  4. Sara Converse, Turkey Valley Preschool CSD
  5. Shelby Frana, Turkey Valley Preschool CSD
  6. Kelli Baumler, Central Preschool CSD
  7. Caroline Erickson, Central Preschool CSD
  8. Sonia Bockoven, Westside Decorah CSD
  9. Janet Falck, Westside Decorah CSD
  10. Rachel Hanson, Westside Decorah CSD
  11. Melissa Johnston, Westside Decorah CSD
  12. Nicole Gray, MFL Mar Mac Preschool Monona CSD
  13. Emily Baade, MFL Mar Mac Preschool Monona CSD
  14. Shelly Stubbs, MFL Mar Mac Preschool Monona CSD
  15. Darla Schuell, Sunflower Child Development Center Decorah
  16. Darcy Wemark, Sunflower Preschool/Decorah CSD
  17. Kathleen Bonjour, Hippity Hop Preschool West Union/NFV CSD
  18. Jill Roffman, West Elementary, Waukon/Allamakee CSD
  19. Jackie Rockford, Sunrise Preschool, St. Joe’s Catholic School, New Hampton
  20. Sandy Daisy, Little Star Preschool, Arlington
  21. Emily Kullen, Tigerhawk Preschool West Union Elementary/NFV CSD
  22. Kali Wenger, Valley Preschool/NFV CSD
  23. Laurie Opperman, West Central Preschool/CSD


Again, congratulations and thank you to all of these dedicated teachers for helping teach children and families where local food comes from and healthier habits and options.

Haleisa and the F2ECE Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.