NEIFFI Early Childhood Announces Farm to Early Childhood Fall Mini Grant Awards

Northeast Iowa Food & Fitness Initiative (NEIFFI) is pleased to announce 22 Early Childhood Mini-Grant Awards to local Preschool Schools.


These $100 mini awards will be used to support Farm to Early Education in the classroom.  NEIFFI has re-granted this funding from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Early Childhood Grant towards these mini grants.


The awards will be used in a variety of ways to connect preschool age children to where their food comes from and introducing healthy eating habits.


Congratulations to each of the following awardees:

  1. Theresa Knutson, TLC New Hampton
  2. Amanda Madery, TLC New Hampton
  3. Tiffany Bredman, TLC New Hampton
  4. Sara Converse, Turkey Valley Preschool
  5. Michelle Tlusty, Turkey Valley Preschool
  6. Jackie Rochford, Sunrise Preschool St. Joseph’s, New Hampton
  7. Caroline Erickson, Central Preschool, Elkader
  8. Kelli Baumler, Central Preschool, Elkader
  9. Sonia Bockoven, Westside, Decorah
  10. Clarissa Einck, Westside, Decorah
  11. Rachel Hanson, Westside, Decorah
  12. Melissa Johnston, Westside, Decorah
  13. Nicole Gray, MFL Mar Mac Preschool, Monona
  14. Emily Welper, MFL Mar Mac Preschool, Monona
  15. Elizabeth Wolfe, St Mary’s Preschool, Guttenberg
  16. Jill Roffman, West Elementary Preschool, Waukon
  17. Darcy Wemark, Sunflower Preschool, Decorah
  18. Carolyn Robinson, Sunflower Preschool, Decorah
  19. Tami Vagts, Hippity Hop Preschool, West Union
  20. Samantha Gage, West Central Preschool, Maynard
  21. Christine Gowdy-Jaehnig, NE Iowa Montessori School, Decorah
  22. Kelli Knickerbocker, Little Star Preschool, Arlington


Thank you to all of these devoted teaches for applying for the award and implementing Farm to Early Care and Education into their classrooms to connect children to local foods and learn more about our food system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *